Steering Committee

The Research Libraries Position Description Bank (PD Bank) is governed by a Steering Committee inclusive of one representative of each of the core organizations: George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida (Smathers Libraries), the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL), the Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL), and Research Libraries UK (RLUK). The representatives (executive director or delegate) have staggering rotation as appropriate. The chair of the Steering Committee rotates annually among the Steering Committee members. The Smathers Libraries’ representative participates as an ex officio, non-voting member. Revisions to the Steering Committee composition are approved by a majority of the Steering Committee members.

The Steering Committee meets twice a year: once to approve the Annual Report, including the budget, and the other to discuss plans for the upcoming year and to address other business as needed. In addition, the Steering Committee meets on an ad hoc basis as requested by the Management Team, a majority of the members of the Steering Committee, or the User Advisory Group.

The Steering Committee establishes policies for the PD Bank, including use and access.  Policies are established and modified by the approval of a majority of the Steering Committee membership.

Steering Committee Members, 2022

  • ARL: Mary Lee Kennedy
  • ASERL: John Burger
  • CARL: Susan Haigh
  • RLUK: David Prosser
  • Smathers Libraries: Judith C. Russell; and Laurie Taylor, liaison to Management Team
RL PD Bank, Graphic on 3 Governance groups